Birchbox · Make Up · Skin care

Birchbox January 2016

IMG_2682

Birchbox theme this month – Best Year Ever

This is my second Birchbox and I’ve been really excited to receive it, it’s amazing how such a simple thing can cause so much excitement!

This month you also receive 5 exclusive illustrated Birchbox x pininterest cards illustrated by Vukorija Semjonova, these cards are really cute and have some great little phrases on them, I’m sure I can find somewhere to display them to enjoy.

 

 

To sign up to Birchbox, click this LINK which will also earn you extra points.

Check out their website www.birchbox.co.uk

 

They’re Real Tinted Primer – Benefit

RRP £18.50

IMG_2702I’ve never used a lash primer before but ive wanted to so I was very pleased with this sample. The Mink coloured formula is supposed to help separate, lengthen and boost each individual lash to prepare it for your mascara, as the prima is tinted with colour you could use it alone for a more natural look. The first time I used this I wasn’t sure on the result my lashes just looked spidery but I decided to persist with it, I find that the trick is really not to use to much and just use one coat, the second time I used it I seemed to get a more natural look and it really does strengthen the lashes but I didn’t feel that they appeared any longer. I am a big benefit fan and use a lot of their products however I am sitting on the fence with this one, I will play with it some more!

 

Lighten up Brightener + waterliner – Jelly Pong Pong

RRP £14.95

This arrived as a full size product, which is really nice, I haven’t used this brand before or even heard of it but I have to admit I am impressed.

This is a multi tasking brightening pencil that can be used along the waterline or blended onto the cheek, brow bones or corner of your eyes. I like to use this on my inner eye to give a more open look; the formula is creamy, thick and easy to apply. I am really pleased with this brightening pencil and would defiantly consider buying again in the future, I’m looking forward to trying more from Jelly pong Pong.

 

Fleur de Vigne Shower gel – caudalie

RRP – £9

IMG_2690

This shower gel is formulated for sensitive skin types and has a calming aloe vera fragrance with white rose, rose pepper and grape blossom. I have to admit I was not impressed with this shower gel it had a very faint floral scent and did not lather well meaning you have to use more product, my skin after did not feel soft it felt quite dry. I would unfortunately not buy this shower gel in the future but I would like to try more from this range.

 

Moisturizing & repairing Shampoo and Conditioner – Parlor

RRP £16 each

I really liked this shampoo and conditioner set, it was a shame that the conditioner only came in a 12ml sample sachet, however it was enough for me to try it out.

IMG_2676The formula was soft and silky and lathered well. The smell was fresh, I thought it smelled of apples but the smell is the brands signature scent of ripe peach and freshly-cut grass, whatever it was it smelt nice and made my bathroom smell like I had just had my hair washed at a hair salon. After my hair felt soft and silky and combed through easily.

 

 

L’Eau Soir et Matin – Absolution

RRP – £27

IMG_2692

This cleansing water is full of hazelnut oil and aloe vera, it feels oily when placed on the skin which makes it easy to remove make-up, it smells refreshing and leaves your skin feeling soft. Only a small amount is needed to sweep over the face. I really liked this product and the smell, however at £27 i think it may be a bit pricey for cleansing water! but I am really pleased with this sample.

Birchbox compact mirror

RRP £4

 

This mirror came as the beauty bonus in this box and I love the idea of getting a little something extra each month. It’s a nice little compact size mirror that will easily fit in a pocket or handbag, however I already have several compact mirrors in various places so I am not sure how handy this will come in.

If you have received this Birchbox or use any of these products let me know what you think, if your interested in joining Birchbox or finding out more check out the links at the top of the page.

Leave a Reply

